World heritage sites in Portugal

Portugal has 15 properties inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage List. The map shows the ones in continental Portugal (ordered from north to south):

UNESCO properties in continental Portugal

  • Historic Centre of Guimaraes (2001)
  • Historic Centre of Porto (1996)
  • Alto Douro Wine Region (2001)
  • Prehistoric Rock Art Sites in the Coa Valley and Siega Verde (1998)
  • University of Coimbra – Alta and Sofia (2013)
  • Monastery of Batalha (1983)
  • Convent of Christ in Tomar (1983)
  • Monastery of Alcobaca (1989)
  • Garrison Border Town of Elvas and its Fortifications (2012)
  • Cultural Landscape of Sintra (1995)
  • Monastery of Hieronymites and Tower of Belem in Lisbon (1983)
  • Historic Centre of Evora (1986)

There are also 11 properties submitted on the country’s Tentative list.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s